USA Names Squad for RLWCQ Opening Round

The USA Hawks have named their 19-man squad for the opening round of the 2021 Rugby League World Cup Americas region qualifying series.
USA Names Squad for RLWCQ Opening Round

The United States is slated to take on newcomers Chile in the second match of a doubleheader on Tuesday, November 13, 2018.

Jacksonville, Florida, has again been chosen as the host city with two doubleheader rounds to be played there on November 13 and 17. The winner of both rounds will secure automatic qualification to #RLWC2021, while the runners-up will have the opportunity to participate in a World playoff group in 2019.

The USA squad includes nine domestic-based players, as well as two others who have been playing overseas.

The Hawks will again be captained by Mark Offerdahl, who skippered the national team during the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Head coach Sean Rutgerson says those named in the squad have put in the effort for selection.

"Looking forward to seeing the work the players have put in and a healthy crowd on Tuesday night in Jacksonville."

USA Hawks 19-man squad:
Nick Newlin (Atlanta Rhinos), Ryan Burroughs (Barrow Raiders), Brandon Anderson, Jamil Robinson
(Brooklyn Kings), Jerome Veve (Burleigh Bears), Haveatama “Joel” Luani (Canterbury-Bankstown
Bulldogs), Chris Wiggins (Delaware Black Foxes), Bureta Faraimo (Hull FC), Kyle Grinold, David Washington (Jacksonville Axemen), Chris Frazier (NOVA Eagles), Curtis Goddard (Southwest Florida Copperheads), Andrew Kneisly (Philadelphia Fight), Cory Makelim, Mark Offerdahl (Sheffield Eagles), Connor Donehue (Sunshine Coast Falcons), Joe Eichner (Junee Diesels), Danny Howard (Wentworth Magpies), Kristian Freed (Wests Mitchelton)

USA Rugby League has set up a GoFundMe page looking to raise $10,000 to help players cover the costs of this tournament. If you would like to contribute, please click here